The Federal Electorate of Curtin is home to some of Western Australia’s most spectacular coastlines and iconic landmarks in the Perth metropolitan area. Bounded by the City of Perth, the Indian Ocean and the Swan River, Curtin is home to over 150,000 people.

The Curtin electorate was established in 1949 and named after Australia’s wartime and Western Australia’s only Prime Minister John Curtin (1941 – 1945). Before 1949, much of the electorate was part of Fremantle.

“I am here to represent all the people of Curtin—to be the voice of the people of Curtin in the national debates on the national issues that will affect their lives, their families, their futures—whatever their beliefs or political philosophy.”

The Hon Julie Bishop MP
First Speech in the House of Representatives
23 November 1998

Previous members to represent the seat of Curtin include:

  • Paul Hasluck (1949 – 1969)
  • Vic Garland (1969 – 1981)
  • Allan Rocher (1981 – 1998)

Tourists from around the world visit the electorate’s spectacular beaches, which span from Cottesloe to Scarborough, and important landmarks including the iconic Kings Park in Crawley and Bold Park in City Beach.

While mostly residential, the electorate is home to some of the State’s top educational institutions, including the University of Western Australia – ranked among the top 100 universities in the world.

Curtin also features some key medical facilities, including the new Perth Children’s Hospital, and the Campbell Barracks in Swanbourne is home to the Special Air Services Regiment of the Australian Defence Force.

The electorate features some of the best retail and entertaining districts in Perth, including Claremont and Subiaco and plays host to many annual events such as the Sculpture by the Sea in Cottesloe and the Perth Royal Show at the Claremont Showgrounds.

Some of the State’s premier sporting teams call Curtin home, including the West Coast Eagles Football Club, the Perth Wildcats and the West Coast Fever Netball team.


Suburbs in the Federal Electorate of Curtin

Churchlands, City Beach, Claremont, Cottesloe, Crawley, Daglish, Dalkeith, Doubleview, Floreat, Glendalough, Innaloo, Jolimont, Karrakatta, Mosman Park, Mt Claremont,  Nedlands, Osborne Park, Peppermint Grove,  Scarborough, Shenton Park, Subiaco, Swanbourne, Wembley, Wembley Downs, West Leederville and Woodlands

State Government Representatives

  • David Honey – Member for Cottesloe
  • Bill Marmion – Member for Nedlands
  • Liza Harvey – Member for Scarborough
  • Sean L’Estrange – Member for Churchlands

Local Governments

  • City of Nedlands
  • City of Stirling
  • City of Subiaco
  • Town of Cambridge
  • Town of Claremont
  • Town of Cottesloe
  • Town of Mosman Park
  • Shire of Peppermint Grove